How To Grade Diamonds Like A Professional

Picture it: you have the perfect love story, the perfect partner, and just need to seal the deal with the perfect engagement ring from Nasr Jewelers – Denton.  Where do you even start to look at diamonds, and how do you know if the diamond is of good quality? The answer is to know the diamond grading process or the 4 C’s.
The diamond grading process isn’t as simple as the school grading scale of an A – F, though.  We’re going to help you out by seamlessly breaking down the 4 C’s so you will be completely prepared to come into our store and buy knowing exactly what you want!
What are the 4 C’s?
The 4 C’s rank the diamond’s quality based on color, clarity, carat, and cut and each ‘C’ has its own rating scale within it.  The variety of diamond possibilities are endless with all of the different scaling options and make it possible to find your perfect diamond within your budget and expectations. At Nasr Jewelers – Denton, we have an ample variety of diamond selections and offer assistance throughout the entire shopping/selection process.
The way to grade a diamond’s color is on an alphabetical scale from D – Z, with D as the most colorless, and Z as the most light.  The scale is further broken down into sections.
Colorless: D – F
Near Colorless: G – J
Faint: K – M
Very Light: N – R
Light: S – Z
Colorless diamonds are viewed as not having any color or tint to them, where light diamonds have a more light yellow or brown tint to them.  Each diamond is completely unique and colors will vary, so it’s best to view them in a good light when choosing your diamond!
A diamond’s cut is the mastermind behind a diamond’s sparkle!  With a lower cut, your colorless diamond may not sparkle as much as you’d imagine.  The grading scale for a diamond’s scale range as follows:
Poor – Fair – Good – Very Good – Excellent
The way light enters and leaves a diamond through reflection is what determines a diamond’s cut and sparkle.
A diamond’s clarity has eleven different measures on the scale, outlined below.  Clarity determines your diamond’s imperfections both on the surface and internally.  Surface imperfections are blemishes and internal imperfections are inclusions, both of which help you know the quality of your diamond.  Check out the diamond clarity scale below.
Flawless & Internally Flawless
VVS1 & VVS2 – Very Very Slightly Included
VS1 & VS2 – Very Slightly Included
SI1 & SI2 – Slightly Included
I1, I2, & I3 – Included
Flawless and internally flawless diamonds will not have any or very few blemishes, while the I1-I3 diamonds will have more blemishes and inclusions.
The carat ‘C’ represents the size/weight of your diamond and can range in size to what fits your style/finger size.  You can opt for a smaller diamond size of .5 carats, or feel like J.Lo with a 15-carat ring.  
Now that you know all about the diamond grading scales, the 4 C’s, you are ready to take the plunge and get that diamond ring!  At Nasr Jewelers – Denton, we can walk you through buying a diamond ring and educate you further on the 4 C’s.  Be sure to stop into our store so we can work to find you the perfect diamond for your perfect love story!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s